Salt Dough Clay

Hey, everyone! Today’s blog post is on making your own art supplies. Today, we are focusing on making our own clay and using a salt dough clay recipe. Using this clay you can create a sculpture, jewelry, or vessel (that is not used for anything edible). On to the recipe!

If you bake these items should already be on hand and if you don’t, they are very easy to find.

The Recipe

2 cups of flour

1 cup of salt

¾ + cups of water

Combine flour and salt in a medium mixing bowl and then begin to slowly add water until it becomes a doughy texture. You may need more than ¾ cup of water. Just make sure to add it slowly so that it doesn’t become soupy and gross.

I wrapped my dough ball in plastic wrap and tossed it into the fridge for maybe 30-45 minutes to help it firm up a bit.

Sculpting

When you are ready to begin sculpting your piece, consider a few things. What are your goals? Do you want this piece to be 3D or 2D? How big do you want it to be? What aesthetic are you going for in your piece? All of this will factor into your design. Maybe even consider sketching out your piece before hand.

In my case, I knew I wanted to create a little protective looking figurine, so I modeled him after a gargoyle. I started by forming his vague shape out of tin foil, both so I could have a base to start from and so he doesn’t take forever and a day to dry. After I had a base to work from, I began to coat the tin foil in a layer of the clay. I didn’t worry about it looking pretty at the time, the goal was to get the foil covered.

Next, I added details. If you want to add elements such as wings, consider making them separately and attaching them later. Salt dough clay has the tendency to slump throughout the sculpting process so anything that is unsupported may droop.

After I had finished adding details, I placed my sculpture and its wings on a wax paper lined baking sheet. I then baked my sculpture for 10 minutes at 355 F (180 C). This method of drying with puff up your piece(s) a bit so keep that in mind when choosing a drying method. Air drying can take more than 7 days depending on the thickness of your clay. I usually do a combination of both drying methods.

If you chose to do a 2D piece you could treat this as cookie dough and use cookie cutters to make shapes. If you are creating pendants using this clay, try using a straw to create a hole for your chain.

 

 

Well, that’s all for now! Next week is a post about my vacation to Salem, MA. See you then!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Hey, great post. I just love the visual stuff. Thank you for writing this and giving us inspiration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

