Bullet Journal: Binding My Own Notebooks

At the beginning of this year, I switched to a Traveler’s Notebook for bullet journaling. I found that this was handy as I could have separate notebooks for things like a planner or sketchbook but still have them all in one place. However, one thing that I have found is that the inserts that I have gotten do not have enough pages for what I wanted the function to be.

Instead of searching the internet for my perfect inserts, I decided to make my own! I purchased a pdf set of dot, grid, line paper that were sized to create a Traveler’s Notebook insert from BrookeEvahPrints on Etsy.

I followed the directions to print out the page double sided (I used the dot grid papers) and trimmed the excess border around the paper. I don’t have any bookbinding tools, so to make the holes in the paper I used a hammer a nail. If you use this method, make sure to have a piece of scrap wood underneath of your book so you don’t accidentally ruin your work surface.

FullSizeRender

I used this Youtube video to learn how to do a simple saddle stitch to bind my books. I’ve made four so far! I think I’m addicted…

FullSizeRender-1

So far, I’m finding making my own notebooks really useful! I like being able to control how many pages each notebook has. In the long run, it’ll save money too.

Have you ever tried binding your own books? Let me know in the comments!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Really interesting to see how you did this. I’m a Leuchtturm addict but I keep flirting with the idea of a travellers notebook, if only so that I don’t have to keep transferring collections!

    Like

Leave a Reply

