Printmaking Fun

Hey, guys! It’s been a busy semester but I’ve finally found time to work on non-school related art! Yay! On Sunday I started my print blocks for the Feather Fund auction.

If you’ve been with me since before I switched over to WordPress, you’ll know what the Feather Fund is. For those of you who haven’t, the Feather Fund is a charity that buys a pony for a deserving child every year at Pony Penning in Chincoteague, VA. I’m planning a more in depth post about this awesome charity that’ll be posted soon, so if you’re interested, more information is coming!

This year, I won’t be able to make it to the auction but I am going to send in some donations.

The first block that I worked on was a 12×18 drawing of an egret.

I managed to get it all carved out today! When printed this will have a solid black background and I will add in watercolor in the beak to get the orange and yellow that exist in real life.

Next, I worked on drawing out a scene from Assateague, a horse in the foliage on the island. This one is 18×24 and will be completely black and white.

PrintmakingFun-3

The drawing is by no means finished, but I like where it is going.

It was nice to finally work on my own art! How do you find time to be creative? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

