Review: RLB Art Box

I received a free art box in exchange for my review. All opinions are my own.

RLB Studio Art Box is a fairly new subscription box that has an interesting concept. Instead of just sending you different types of art supplies each month, you are sent a new art project, complete with written and video instructions.

pablo-17

First I have to say, I really like their packaging! It made me excited to get to the contents and to start the project.

The art supplies and instructions were packaged in a plastic bag.

Now on to the project! It was a watercolor relief rose. The instructions said to trace the back of the stencil paper and transfer it to the watercolor paper.

Instead of the paperclips provided to hold the paper down when I traced the image onto the paper, I used blue tape. I find this gives me more mobility when choosing how I want to position my image. After tracing the image, I had a faint outline of the image on each piece of paper.

The next step was to trace the outlines with the glue provided, to create a relief effect.

There was a bit of a learning curve to this, but once I got the hang of it, everything went smoothly. The instructions said to let it sit for about an hour to let the glue dry. On to the painting!

The watercolors are metallic, which is really cool! The directions say to layer and try different color combinations, so that’s what I did. I really like the finished products.

I highly recommend this box, especially if you are just starting out doing art. The directions are clear, and I really like how they also offer video instructions for those who are visual learners. The art products they choose are also very high quality.

The subscription box costs $25 a month. They also offer 3, 6, and 12-month subscriptions at a slightly discounted price per month. Shipping is free inside the US (gotta love free shipping!) You can cancel your subscription at any time. There are also options to buy a month’s box without subscribing.

Interested in a box? Click here and use the code SAVE5$ to get $5.00 off any purchase

Next month’s project is a drawing of an owl using pastels!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

