Snowy Owl Block Print

I ended up making another print during winter break. A snowy owl! If you can’t tell already, owls are probably my favorite animal, maybe besides a horse. I think I like this one better than my previous print that I posted about, Riptide.

It was a small block size again, 5×7, so carving out the background wasn’t all that challenging. After I carved out everything to my satisfaction, I did some test prints.

screen-shot-2017-01-13-at-8-57-22-am

I ended up carving more of the grass in front of the owl. I thought it needed more definition. Then came choosing the colors of the paper I was going to print on. I found that the white was to stark for this print. I immediately thought of colors that were associated with winter. Icy blue, a pinky lavender, and warm toned grey that tended towards tan. I think my favorite color ended up being the tan color.

These guys are now on Etsy! Click here to check them out.

Leave a Reply

